The Downside of Being Your Own Best Friend

J-Bo.net

I have always been obsessed with friendship. When I was a kid, I would rush to my elementary school as soon as the class lists were posted a few days before school started, and eagerly scan mine for the names of new girls. Because new girls meant new friends, and I was obsessed with friendship. I could never fall asleep before the first day of school, fantasizing about all the new friends I would make.

This remained a pattern throughout my life. In high school, I threw parties at my house every weekend. In college, I tried to have plans every night of the week. And I only survived graduate school by engaging in constant shenanigans with my cohort.

As a result of being hyperly social, every period of my life has been defined by my friendships.

JulNomBevaustraliafriendskaylabirthday

When Doug and I moved to Iowa together in 2011 after two years…

View original post 1,021 more words

One response to “The Downside of Being Your Own Best Friend

Leave a Reply

